My market adventures and the delicious foods that came of it

If there’s one thing I love more than going to the grocery store, it is going to the food market. Throughout my years of travelling, I have been to many food markets and each one is amazing and unique in its own way. I am currently living in Tel-Aviv and love visiting the market, particularly the Carmel Market, regularly. The Carmel market not only sells clothing, jewellery, art and more but also fresh fruits and vegetables, spices, tea and much more. I find that a visit to the market always puts me in a good mood.

The other day I decided to visit the Carmel Market, not so much because I actually needed to buy something, but rather because it is a great way to enjoy a beautiful day outdoors, and clear my head. I love the energy that the market has (some may find it stressful, especially on a busy day when it can get quite crowded).

I ended up buying some things, and made a delicious arugula, beet and sweet potato salad and homemade strawberry jam (since strawberries are in season here).

IMG_0003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arugula salad with beets and sweet potato:

A bundle of arugula

1 cooked sweet potato

Beets (I used 1 large fresh beet, which I boiled, but canned beets are fine and in fact are much faster)

1/2-1 Avocado

1/2 cup of Burgul (or Bulgar) or Quinoa (cooked)

Red onion (optional)

*After washing the arugula leaves, I placed them in a salad bowl and added in the beets, sweet potato and avocado which I had cut into cubes. I then added in the Burgul/Quinoa and finally red onions. For the dressing, I used a classic olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper dressing and it worked really well with the salad. Feel free to use a different dressing, if you prefer.

IMG_3398

 

 

 

 

 

 

Homemade strawberry jam:

1.5 kg strawberries (the more ripe they are, the better)

4 cups sugar

1/2 cup of lemon juice from a fresh lemon

*To make the jam, sterilize 1-2 jars (depending on the size of the jars). For sterilization instructions, see the references and resources section below. Wash the strawberries well and cut off leaves and stems. Place the strawberries into a large pot on low heat, and after a few minutes mash slightly with a mashed potato masher. Add the sugar in and stir with a wooden spoon until it has dissolved, then turn up the heat and bring to a boil. Cook the jam for about 20 minutes, removing excess foam with a soup ladle as it forms. Add in the lemon juice (a natural preservative) and allow the jam to cook until it starts to reach the desired consistency. There are a few methods to check if the jam is ready. The one I used is I dipped a cold metal spoon into the boiling jelly and pulled it out and then turned it to its side. The jam is ready when syrup forms two drops that flow together off the edge of the spoon.

Since jams have a lot of sugar in them, be sure to eat them in moderation. It is also always better to eat foods without preservatives, or with natural preservatives, which is why I love making jam myself (when the berries are in season).

strawberry-jam-1024x1024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoy the recipes! Let me know if you tried them and what you thought of them.

Have a great week 🙂

Ziv

 

References and resources:

How to sterilize jams

USDA: Principles of home canning

USDA: Preparing and canning jams and jellies

