My favorite carrot cake recipe

As a token of my appreciation to those who have been following me in my first few weeks as a blogger, I have decided to share with you my favorite recipe for a delicious carrot cake recipe that I discovered many many years ago. This cake would be great to make for your guests over the holidays. I also sometimes bake it in muffin pans, and have a quick and delicious breakfast-on-the-go ready!

carrotcake

Ingredients:

8 medium-sized carrots

1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts/pecans

1 cup raisins (optional)

1 cup vegetable oil

1.5 cups brown sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups all-purpose flour

1.5 tsp. baking powder

1.5 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. allspice

1 tsp. cinnamon

0.5 tsp. salt

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C). Grease round cake pan and line the bottom of the pan with circles of waxed paper and then grease again.

2. Peel carrots, then grate using medium grating disc of a food processor (much faster) or a hand grater (better work-out). Mix in walnuts/pecans and raisins (optional).

3. Measure sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla into a large mixing bowl. Beat mixture with an electric mixer just until blended. Measure flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt into a separate, large bowl. Stir the dry ingredients with a fork until blended. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, pour in the egg mixture, and finally fold in the carrot mixture.

4. Immediately spoon batter into the prepared pans and smooth the top. Bake in the center of a preheated oven until the cake bounces back when touched lightly in the center and edges are pulling away from the sides, around 30 minutes (may take longer depending on the size and depth of pan used). Another trick is to poke the middle of the cake with a toothpick (if the toothpick comes out dry, the cake is ready). Once ready, take the cake out and allow to cool on a rack.


I am sure you will all enjoy this recipe as much as my family and I have over the years.

Wishing you all a wonderful holiday season!

🙂

Ziv

